A Glimpse at Gluten-Free Regulations
The FDA recently issued a final rule defining “gluten-free” for food labeling, which will help consumers, especially those living with celiac disease be confident that what they’re eating is in fact, gluten-free. This rule will apply to all foods labeled “without gluten,” “free of gluten,” and “no gluten.” The new regulations state the following:
A food bearing the claim of “gluten-free,” “without gluten,” “free of gluten,” or “no gluten” in its labeling must not contain any of the following:
• An ingredient that is any type of wheat, rye, barley, or crossbreeds of these grains;
• An ingredient derived from these grains and that has not been processed to remove gluten, or
• An ingredient derived from these grains and that has been processed to remove gluten, if it results in the food containing 20 or more parts per million (ppm) gluten.
Foods such as bottled spring water, fruits and vegetables, and eggs can also be labeled “gluten-free” if they inherently don’t have any gluten. Any food labeled as gluten-free that fails to meet the requirements of these rules will be subject to regulatory action by the FDA.